This once rocky outcrop was flattened and expanded with land reclamation, although it still remains the smallest of the harbour isles. Designers with a sense of fun sculpted the stone sea walls into the shape of a ship with bow and stern, with two distinct levels within. Not much vegetation remains but the the two cabbage tree palms are considered local features, and give the island a colonial atmosphere.
Designated a public reserve in 1879, it was too rocky for the public to enjoy, and eventually it became a ship storage area, and Sea Cadet station. It was utilised in the war by the navy and the museum was opened in the fifties and sixties. Although a fascinating trip back memory lane Snapper Island is currently closed to the public while the Harbour Trust decides how best to transform the area for public use and enjoyment.